top of page

Welcome to Commanderruminations!


Venice: the Grand Canal from the Rialto to the Palazzo Foscari by Giovanni Antonio Canal (1730). Emrakul by Mark Tedin

Welcome to Commanderruminations!

This blog will be a weekly braindump of my experiences, thoughts and ideas about the Magic the Gathering "Commander" format.

I play Commander several times a week, both at the EDH League I run and in casual games. I also follow multiple podcasts and contribute to a number of Facebook and Reddit EDH communities. I am far from an expert in the subject, but will be using this forum to write about the game. I enjoy writing, and hope to promote the format and help inspire more EDH Leagues to spring up and have the same success I have seen in our own league over the past year.

My current plan for artwork on this site is to create photoshopped mashups of classic paintings and creatures from Magic cards. I have imagined it would be fun to pick up paintings at thrift stores, paint Magic the Gathering monsters into the backgrounds and re-sell them in game stores. As I have no experience with painting, and decades of experience with Adobe Photoshop, it seemed like a good idea to do this digitally rather than with actual paint. I'm sure the quality of the mashups will vary and the scale of the creatures will more often than not be wrong, but I hope you can enjoy them. They may only rarely have anything to do with the week's post, but maybe in time I'll develop some synergy between them.

If you subscribe to this blog, you can expect a weekly post with new artwork, stories of games I've played, and who knows what else. I will answer fan mail, post decklists, hopefully help some of you start up EDH leagues of your own, and generally talk about my favorite Magic format - Commander.

I hope you'll consider joining me here!

bottom of page